Surgery Recovery Presents Part II

Besides the hat, I wanted to include something else more specific to surgery recovery in the care package for my friend.  I thought about a book because he has a little more time than usual to read, but he mainly reads sci-fi and I know nothing of that genre.  Then, the day after surgery, he talked about how he managed to get coffee that morning by filling a mug, putting it on a plate, and shoving it across the floor with a crutch one step at a time.  Creative, but there had to be an easier way.  I had an old travel mug so figured I would include that (easier than trying to carry around a normal mug), but he still needed a way to carry it.  A quick Google search of crutch bags turned up several commercial options and one homemade one.  They didn’t seem that complicated and so with some fabric scraps, a little velcro, a pair of crutches from the basement for testing purchases, and one evening, this is what I came up with:

IMG_0100

It appears to work quite well for carrying all sorts of stuff and it was quick to sew up (did it in one evening from inspiration to finished product).  And I made it out of an old, ripped up pair of his shorts so I know he’ll like the fabric (the pocket is from the shorts too, although I had to pick it off the butt of the shorts and re-sew it to the bag – bit of a pain but it adds a nice touch).

IMG_0102

And its super easy to attach thanks to a little velcro.

IMG_0105

Not too shabby if I do say so myself.  Hopefully, he enjoys it.

This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

